Cut price cleaning!

I have to admit, I am a little cleaning obsessed and can’t really relax properly unless the house is tidy. This can prove a little challenging with a whirlwind of a 2 year old!

I used to spend a pretty penny on cleaning products, until I came to the conclusion that you only need a few key products, some of which you might already have in your cupboards.

clean

Bicarbonate of Soda is a little miracle for me and saved the cost of a professional oven clean when I moved (yep, I’m a bit slummy mummy when it comes to a full clean of the oven!).  Mix a little of this into a paste, spread over the whole oven, spritz with some white vinegar, leave for a few hours or overnight and, by the morning, just wipe the sludge away.  It’s great for removing clothing stains. Just mix a little with water and rub on and it’s gone, without the expense of Vanish.  It also does a good job of removing carpet stains and helps refresh a stinky old carpet when you sprinkle it on liberally, leave for an hour and then hoover off. It was also a brilliant freshner for our gag inducing wheelie bin!

I use white vinegar diluted in a spray bottle for windows, sinks and taps. It’s really effective and not as harsh as other cleaning products.  A bottle lasts for ages and can be picked up for pence.

My other go to fave, is good old run of the mill bleach. I don’t think you can beat it for toilet and drains.  A toothbrush and a little neat bleach brings tired old grouting and tiles up a treat.

For kitchen surfaces and bathrooms I buy a huge bottle of Flash cleaner and dilute it into a spray bottle. It lasts months this way and saves me a good £10 a month on separate sprays for the bathroom and kitchen and it’s great for mopping the floors.

Anyone else have some handy household tips to share?

Vicky

Leave a Reply

